Skip to content

BREAKING: More than 250 new ICD-10 codes proposed for Oct. 1

Revolutionizing early Type 1 diabetes care: New ICD-10 codes from CMS now classify presymptomatic stages, enabling earlier diagnosis and better management from October 2024!

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has just incorporated new ICD-10 diagnosis codes developed by the CDC to identify early-stage, presymptomatic Type 1 diabetes (T1D). These groundbreaking changes, effective from October 1, 2024, will transform our approach to T1D screening and early diagnosis:

🔹 E10.A0 – Type 1 diabetes mellitus, presymptomatic, unspecified
🔹 E10.A1 – Type 1 diabetes mellitus, presymptomatic, Stage 1
🔹 E10.A2 – Type 1 diabetes mellitus, presymptomatic, Stage 2

Why is this significant? For the first time, the presence of multiple antibodies in an individual will be acknowledged at the level of disease rather than mere risk. This pivotal shift enables us to talk about ‘screening for disease’ and ‘early diagnosis’ – a crucial distinction, especially when engaging with healthcare systems in Europe and beyond.

These changes are not just a technical update; they represent a fundamental shift in how we perceive and manage T1D from its earliest stages. Let’s embrace this milestone which paves the way for better patient outcomes through earlier intervention.

Read more about the decision and its implications here.

Together, we’re moving towards a future where Type 1 diabetes can be identified and addressed sooner, ensuring better health for those at risk.